Orlando First-Offense DUI Lawyer
Also Serving Drivers in Surrounding Florida Counties
DUI is considered a serious crime in Florida and across the nation. All states have established the legal limit of .08 % blood alcohol concentration (BAC) as the baseline for an automatic DUI charge. However, even with a lower BAC, you can be charged with DUI, if law enforcement observed and asserted that your driving was impaired. DUI charges include an array of penalties, along with a permanent mark on your criminal record.
Because of the serious consequences of a DUI charge, even as a first offense, you should bring in an attorney who is experienced in investigating all facets of your arrest, building effective defense strategies, negotiating with prosecutors, and taking cases to court. At the Law Office of Guy H. Gilbert, you can turn to a lawyer who has been practicing Florida DUI defense for more than 27 years — that is the kind of experience that can dramatically improve your outcome.
Contact us at (321) 415-4104 for a complimentary case review.
First-Offense DUI in Florida
DUI charges in Florida result in two separate proceedings. These consist of an administrative process concerning your license with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) and the criminal process, in which your guilt or innocence is proven.
The administrative process consists of a license suspension for up to six months for a first offense of drunk and/or drugged driving. You will have 10 days to challenge the automatic license suspension, which our firm can help you with. If you refused to take a chemical test as requested by law enforcement, you will face an automatic license suspension of a year. You will also have to go through the DHSMV to request a hardship license, which is generally available after serving at least 30 days of your suspension period.
Upon a first-offense DUI conviction, the mandatory minimum for jail time is not automatically imposed by the criminal courts. The maximum time that a judge may order will depend on the individual circumstances of your case.
Penalties can include:
- Up to six months of jail time for a standard DUI
- Up to nine months of jail time for an aggravated DUI (a BAC of .15% or higher or driving with a passenger under the age of 18), up to a year if you caused an accident involving minor injuries and/or property damage, or up to five years if you caused serious bodily injury in an accident
- Fines of $500 to $1,000 in a standard DUI case, fines of $1,000 to $2,000 if your BAC measured .15% or higher or you were driving with a passenger under 18, and fines of up to $5,000 if you caused another to suffer serious bodily injury in an accident
- 50 hours of community service
- License suspension of six months to a year, which is separate from the administrative license suspension (this suspension may have some overlap with the administrative one)
- An ignition interlock device requirement for six months or more
- A 10-day vehicle impoundment
- Completion of DUI “school”
You will also have court costs, legal fees, and a potential increase in auto insurance premiums. In some cases, you may be required to complete alcohol counseling or be subjected to random alcohol or drug testing.
Your actual penalties may vary from those stated above. Courts will look at all the factors related to your arrest, including your BAC level, your interaction with law enforcement, any prior criminal record, and more. At the Law Office of Guy H. Gilbert, we will conduct a thorough investigation into the specifics of your case to determine the right way to deal with your DUI and build an aggressive defense.
Contact us at (321) 415-4104 to book a complimentary consultation.
Time Is of the Essence Don't Delay
Extensive Knowledge on How to Get the Best Results
Approachability & Care for Each & Every Client
24/7 Availability & Direct Access to Attorney
More Than 25 Years of Legal Experience