Orlando Juvenile & Underage DUI Lawyer
The state of Florida applies a zero-tolerance policy for those under the age of 21 found drinking and driving. While the legal limit of blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08% for adults, underage drivers can be charged with DUI if their BAC measures .02% or higher. This is a significant difference and can put younger drivers at a much higher risk of a DUI conviction.
At the Law Office of Guy H. Gilbert, we have helped countless individuals and their parents handle the consequences of an underage DUI. While jail time is rarely imposed, other restrictions and penalties may apply. Our attorney is well-versed in the law and deeply familiar with the local court system and the DMV administrative process. With over 27 years of experience in your corner, you can have peace of mind knowing your case is in the hands of a trusted and proven professional.
Call the Law Office of Guy H. Gilbert at (321) 415-4104 or contact us online for a complimentary consultation.
Underage DUI in Florida
Underage DUI convictions rarely lead to jail time. However, if found guilty of violating Florida law in this manner, you can face other penalties.
These penalties include:
- First-offense DUI: Your license will be suspended for up to six months.
- Second-offense DUI: You license will be suspended for up to a year.
- If your BAC measured .05% or higher: You will be required to undergo a DUI evaluation and/or alcohol educational course. You will not be able to reinstate your license without proof of completion.
- Community service
If your BAC measured .08% or higher, you would face the same penalties as an adult. For a first-offense DUI, these include fines up to $1,000, a license suspension of up to a year, vehicle impoundment, potential jail time of up to six months, and/or 50 hours of community service.
Underage drivers who refuse to take a breath or blood test face a license suspension of one year. Subsequent refusals will result in a license suspension of 18 months. You can apply for a hardship license unless you have two previous DUIs. However, you will have to install and use an ignition interlock device (IID) during the suspension period. To qualify, you will have to complete 30 days of the suspension and attend a DUI education course. A hardship license will allow you to travel to and from work or school while your license is suspended.
Discuss your case with our experienced Orlando juvenile and underage DUI attorney in a free initial consultation. Call our office at (321) 415-4104 or submit your contact details online.
Time Is of the Essence Don't Delay
Extensive Knowledge on How to Get the Best Results
Approachability & Care for Each & Every Client
24/7 Availability & Direct Access to Attorney
More Than 25 Years of Legal Experience